Annual Conference: 23 October 2014 9.00am - 1.00pm

The SBE Annual Conference 2014

Venue: 15 Hatfields, Chadwick Court, London, SE1 8DJ

We look forward to a packed programme of incisive comment from a distinguished panel of speakers, chaired as ever by Evan Davis of the Today Programme. 

This prestigious event is open to members and non-members alike, and SBE Affiliates can attend at the heavily discounted member rate.

Opening Address

Dr Andrew Sentance, Senior Economic Adviser, PwC and Vice President, SBE.

Dr Andrew Sentance

Andrew joined PwC in November 2011 after serving as external member of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England.

The outlook for UK monetary policy

Dr Ben Broadbent, Deputy Governor, Monetary Policy, Bank of England

Ben Broadbent

Ben Broadbent joined the Monetary Policy Committee in 2011. In 2014 Ben was appointed as the Bank of England’s deputy governor for monetary policy He was formerly an Economic Adviser at HM Treasury, and Assistant Professor of Economics at Columbia University from 1997-2000

The outlook for UK fiscal policy

Robert Chote, Chairman, Office for Budget Responsibility

Robert Chote

Robert Chote has been Chairman of the Office for Budget Responsibility since October 2010.
Previously Robert served as Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies from 2002 to 2010.


Outlook for and potential surprises from global policy

Stephanie Flanders, Chief Market Strategist for UK and Europe, JP Morgan Asset Management

Stephanie Flanders

Stephanie Flanders joined J P Morgan Asset Management as Chief Market Strategist for UK and Europe in November 2013. She was previously the BBC’s Economics Editor.

Outlook for and potential surprises from global commodities

Jeffrey Currie, Global Head of Commodities Research, Goldman Sachs

Jeffrey Currie

Jeffrey Currie is the global head of Commodities Research in the Global Investment Research (GIR) Division of Goldman Sachs. Previously, Jeff was the European co-head of Economics, Commodities and Strategy Research from 2010 to 2012