Past events

Below is an archive of past SBE events.

For event reviews, please take a look in the Speakers Corner.


Meeting : 04 July 2022 5.30pm - 8.00pm

A Debate on Global Inflation

Speaker: Dame DeAnne Julius, Chatham House
Speaker: Dr Gertjan Vlieghe, Element Capital
Chair: Chris Giles, Financial Times

Annual Dinner : 20 June 2022 6.30pm

SPE Annual Dinner 2022

Meeting : 30 May 2022 5.00pm - 6.30pm

The Chancellors: How to handle an economic crisis

Speaker: Sir Howard Davies, Author & Chairman, The NatWest Group
Speaker: George Osborne, former Chancellor of the Exchequer
Chair: Stephanie Flanders, Head of Bloomberg Economics, Bloomberg

Meeting : 28 April 2022 5.30pm - 7.00pm

Evening Meeting: Why a changing economy requires changing economics?

In conversation with Diane Coyle

Speaker: Diane Coyle, University of Cambridge
Speaker: Sam Beckett, Office for National Statistics

Meeting : 29 March 2022 5.30pm - 7.30pm

Evening meeting: Fiscal policy lessons from the pandemic

Chair: Torsten Bell, The Resolution Foundation
Speaker: Jagjit Chadha, NIESR
Speaker: Richard Hughes, OBR
Speaker: Nina Skero, Cebr

Meeting : 24 March 2022 12.00pm - 1.00pm

Live Webinar: OBR Post‑Spring Statement Briefing

Speaker: Andy King, Office for Budget Responsibility
Chair: Lucy Meakin, Bloomberg Economics

Annual Conference : 09 February 2022 1.00pm - 5.00pm

SPE Online Conference 2022

The Challenges of Change

Meeting : 27 January 2022 4.00pm - 5.00pm

Live Webinar: Quant or qual - different evaluation methods in discussion

Speaker: Dr Ricky Lawton, Ipsos MORI
Speaker: Lizzy Whitehead, Mercy Corps
Chair: Dr Ulrike Hotopp, University of Kent

Meeting : 18 January 2022 5.00pm - 6.15pm

Live Webinar: UK Outlook for 2022

Speaker: Sarah Hewin, Standard Chartered Bank
Speaker: Fabrice Montagné, Barclays
Chair: George Buckley, Nomura International

Meeting : 29 November 2021 5.00pm - 6.15pm

Live Webinar: Has Covid Changed the Labour Market Forever

Speaker: Nick Bloom, Stanford University
Speaker: Paul Johnson, Institute for Fiscal Studies
Chair: Amanda Rowlatt, Department for Transport